George Michael – Listen Without Prejudice Vol. 1 – LP


George Michael – Listen Without Prejudice Vol. 1 LP. New repress of classic 1990 release. Includes Freedom! and Praying For Time.

Only 1 left in stock (can be backordered)

George Michael – Listen Without Prejudice Vol. 1 – LP

Listen Without Prejudice Vol. 1 is the second solo studio album by the English singer-songwriter George Michael, released on 3 September 1990 by Columbia. It features largely acoustic instrumentation and a sombre intensity in many of the lyrics and melodies.

The musical angle may have been due to Michael’s anxiety at creating a ‘sophomore’ album to follow up his massive first solo album, ‘Faith’, or the well-documented legal battle with his recording company Sony, caused (so Michael felt) because of the lack of support from the company around this release.

Musically, this album is largely devoted to ballads and folk-styled rock songs. He need not have worried though: the album sold approximately eight million copies worldwide, loved by al and eclipsing his first release.

The first single from Listen Without Prejudice Vol. 1, “Praying for Time”, was released in August 1990, reaching number six on the UK Singles Chart and number one on the US Billboard Hot 100 – Michael’s final US number one as a solo artist.

The follow-up album Listen Without Prejudice Vol. 2 (ostensibly scheduled to follow in June 1991) was scrapped for reasons known only to Michael and his record company. Three of the tracks intended for that album appear on the 1992 charity compilation Red Hot + Dance, while a fourth (“Crazyman Dance”) turned up on the B-side of that compilation’s first single, “Too Funky”.

The album cover image is a cropped section of the 1940 photograph Crowd at Coney Island by Weegee.

This album is a new sealed EU repress.

Listen to full album here.

  • Praying for Time
  • Freedom!
  • They Won’t Go When I Go
  • Something to Save
  • Cowboys and Angels
  • Waiting for That Day
  • Mother’s Pride
  • Heal the Pain
  • Soul Free
  • Waiting (Reprise)
  • Label: 88875145271
  • Format: Vinyl, LP
  • Country: EU
  • Released: 2022
  • Genre: Pop
  • Style: Downtempo, Synth-pop, Vocal
  • Condition: New Sealed

Check out our other listings, Discogs store bundle and save! Gradings are based on Discogs gradings system. Grading of albums are conservative, so if you have any issues with the album or albums when you get them, let us know! Also refer to our shipping and returns policy. Before shipping, all secondhand records will be machine cleaned with new inner & outer sleeves before being posted. If you would like to get on our email list for special deals and advance warning of listings, contact me with your name and email address.

We acknowledge the Traditional Custodians of the land on which we gather and pay our respects to their Elders past and present.


Weight500 g
Dimensions30 × 30 × 3 cm

You may also like…